

August 13, 2024

As Chair of the Region V Awards Committee, I am pleased to present this opportunity for you to submit nomination(s) for the Region V Susan Wyatt Sedwick Experienced Member Travel Award. The award provides up to \$500 to a recipient to offset travel expenses to attend the Region V Fall Meeting. The 2023 Region V Fall Meeting is scheduled for November 3-6 in Corpus Christi, Texas.

The Awards Committee will select one individual to receive the award based upon the quantity and quality of nominations received.

Nomination packets are due no later than 5 p.m., submitter's local time, on Tuesday, August 27th.

The eligibility criteria for the Susan Wyatt Sedwick Experienced Member Travel Award are:

- Currently work as a research administrator at an institution located in the Region V geographical area (Oklahoma and Texas);
- Have at least five (5) years' experience in research administration; and
- Be members of NCURA in good standing at the time of the nomination.

Nominees must provide:

- a written statement on how the award will benefit the nominee and their home institution, and
- at least one letter of support from their home institution.

The nominee statement and/or the institutional support letter(s) must confirm:

- that the applicant has secured their manager's or supervisor's approval to attend the meeting, and
- that the nominee or the nominee's home institution will cover the balance if the cost of attendance exceeds the amount of the award.

The selection will be based on perceived need and benefits to the nominee and their home institution. Self-nominations will be accepted. Information about the Region V meeting can be found at : https://www.ncuraregionv.com/fall-2024-meeting

The Susan Wyatt Sedwick Experienced Member Travel Award Nomination Form can be found at: https://forms.gle/ous9Cgyxakx1sdxd6

If you have questions, please feel free to contact me.

Jennifer Husmo Immediate Past Chair Travel Award Committee Chair Ncuraregionv@gmail.com

National Council of University Research Administrators - Region V



2024 EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Chair: Sheleza Mohamed American Heart Association

> Chair- Elect: Liz Kogan The University of Texas At Austin

Immediate Past Chair: Jennifer Husmo The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Secretary: Marilyn Rosales The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Treasurer Susan Hurley Sam Houston State University

> Treasurer-Elect Laura Rosales Baylor College of Medicine

At-large Members:

Mona Bisase University of Texas Medical Branch

> Lizette Gonzales The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

> Jeffrey Garza The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Feroza Haq Texas Tech University