



August 13, 2024

As Chair of the Region V Awards Committee, I am pleased to present this opportunity for you to submit nomination(s) for the Region V Quinten S. Mathews Travel Award. The award provides up to \$1,000 to each recipient to offset travel expenses to attend the Region V fall meeting. The 2024 Region V Fall Meeting is scheduled for November 3-6th in Corpus Christi, Texas.

The Awards Committee will select one or two individuals to receive the award based upon the quantity and quality of nominations received.

Nomination packets are due no later than 5 p.m., submitter's local time, on Tuesday, August 27th.

The eligibility criteria for the Quinten S. Mathews Regional Travel Award are:

- Nominees must be research administrators from the Region V geographical area (Oklahoma and Texas).
- Nominees should be new to research administration and have been in his/her position less than three years from time of award.
- Nominees must have never attended an NCURA national or regional Meeting or Conference. Participation in NCURA training courses and workshops (e.g. Fundamentals of Sponsored Projects Administration Workshop) or NCURA web seminars does not preclude eligibility.
- Nominees are NOT required to be members of NCURA at the time of the nomination. Nominees must provide:
- a written statement on how the award will benefit the nominee and their home institution, and
- at least one letter of support from their home institution. The nominee statement and/or the institutional support letter(s) must confirm that the applicant has secured their manager's or supervisor's approval to attend the meeting, and
- that the nominee or the nominee's home institution will cover the balance if the cost of attendance exceeds the amount of the award.

2024 EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Chair: Sheleza Mohamed American Heart Association

> Chair- Elect: Liz Kogan The University of Texas At Austin

> Immediate Past Chair: Jennifer Husmo

The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Secretary: Marilyn Rosales The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Treasurer
Susan Hurley
Sam Houston State University

Treasurer-Elect Laura Rosales Baylor College of Medicine

At-large Members:

Mona Bisase University of Texas Medical Branch

Lizette Gonzales
The University of Texas
Rio Grande Valley

Jeffrey Garza The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Feroza Haq Texas Tech University

The selection will be based on perceived need and benefits to the nominee and their home institution. Self-nominations will be accepted. Information about the Region V meeting in Houston can be found at: https://www.ncuraregionv.com/fall-2024-meeting





The Quinten S. Mathews Regional Travel Award Nomination Form can be found at: https://forms.gle/xhu63qPujCkSRDVD6

If you have questions, please feel free to contact me.

Jennifer Husmo Immediate Past Chair Travel Award Committee Chair Ncuraregionv@gmail.com